Dead Men Tell no Tales

 

In the ongoing saga of the kill pen full of Standies and my frantic detective work I have learned something.

A lot of the last registered owners of these horses have passed on.

This sweet fellow is in this predicament.

venus

His owner passed on, leaving the horses to his son.  The son was contacted about the horses whereabouts as part of this rescue effort.  Sadly the son could not have cared less about the horses fate, according to my rescue contact who spoke with him.  His father may have cherished them, but it seems that love did not pass down to his son.

Of course I did not know the father in this story, so I cannot say if he would be dismayed or not about his son’s callous attitude to his former horse.  I do know that often if a horse person dies, and no one else in the family has horses in their blood, they are just  considered an inconvenience to dispose of in the quickest way possible.

So, include them in your will!  You may even have to appoint someone to ensure your wishes are carried out.  Sometimes they can be placed with a rescue, with an appropriate donation accompanying them.  I know of a few people who had a terminal illness and did just that, before their passing.  Not that we all get notice that our time is up…sometimes it can be sudden, so make sure now that your horses are provided for.

Before some callous uncaring brat you spawned lets them end up on a hook somewhere…

My relatives are well aware that my mare is to be returned to the rescue from whence she came to live out her days in sanctuary.

They are also rightly terrified that if they do not follow my directions my ghost will turn their lives into the Amityville Horror part 2 😉

And as an aside, a pet peeve of mine!  The term ‘bail” that is used for the money the KB’s want to get these horses out and to safety.  Bail implies a crime was committed.  I think “ransom” is more fitting of a term.  Holding a life hostage until money is paid…

Bugs me almost as much as Furbabies…do these same people call their kids Skinbabies?

 

 

 

 

About crow131

I'm a happy camper 95% of the time, I love animals and kids....and some adults. I believe in Karma and am a spiritual and moral person. Bad people may gain in this world but they are still bad.... I have many interests, including horses, birds, growing my own food, art, writing, the Runes....yes, it is all over the map. I feel some of us are here to care for those who are not cared for by those who should care for them-if that makes any sense ;-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment