It’s a Feel Good Friday

 

Why?  Because I helped save a horse.

We often see the posts on Facebook…a horse in need, in a kill pen usually.  Posts alternate between begging for donations, cursing the human race and people wishing they were rich and saying, “If only I had money I’d save them”.

I don’t ask for money and never will.  Curse the human race?  Yeah, guilty.
Do I wish I was rich?  All the damned time hahaha.

So does this mean there is nothing I can do?  Oh nay nay!

Sometimes it is as simple as running a freeze brand, then finding the last registered owner and contacting them.  Letting them know POLITELY (ie: not like an accusatory crazy PETArd) that their former horse is in a bad place and could use their help.

Yeah…sometimes they ignore you, and sometimes they reply with “I could care less”.  But it is my lifelong belief that the worst anyone can ever say is “No”.  To anything you may ask.

And they may just say “Yes”!

So was the case this morning, with Village Supreme.

VS

Poor VS ended up in a kill pen, after a racing career that included winning $50,000 plus,  then a tour of duty with the Amish.

(Ahhhh the Amish, but that is another post…)

I ran him through the USTA, then found his last known owner.  This last owner who still runs a racing stable in Guelph ON and transports horses throughout North America,  agreed on the spot to fund his rescue, and make sure he gets to a safe place.

Dale Devine, of Devine Stables and Horse Transport, I doff my hat to you!  I am outing you on my blog-as a fine example of a human being!!!
You give me faith that the stuff I, and others do, is not always in vain.

And VS…well, he doesn’t have the comprehension we do, but I am sure he will be much happier munching hay tomorrow on his air cushioned ride home than being crammed into a double decker truck on the way to a captive bolt in the head.

And I know I am much happier knowing that is the way it worked out…

If I was shipping a horse I would trust this man, who obviously loves horses, and does not see them only as a commodity.  So if you have the business, consider him for your next transport job.

And feel free to hug him for me and VS!

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

About crow131

I'm a happy camper 95% of the time, I love animals and kids....and some adults. I believe in Karma and am a spiritual and moral person. Bad people may gain in this world but they are still bad.... I have many interests, including horses, birds, growing my own food, art, writing, the Runes....yes, it is all over the map. I feel some of us are here to care for those who are not cared for by those who should care for them-if that makes any sense ;-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s a Feel Good Friday

  1. Cathy Trope says:

    That is FABULOUS! I always contact breeders. Sure, many do not care but if even one does, you saved a life!

  2. Loni says:

    Being not far from Guelph, I felt horrible when I saw this horse’s reggie on the USTA. Thank you for doing the legwork on this and helping this old boy have a soft landing.

Leave a Reply

