Form Follows Function-part 2

There is a part one to this, if you care to go back and read 🙂

I may pick on some people, and some horses…but today I am picking on (and lets be honest-bragging about) mine.

Check out these legs, this is not an awkward pic either-this is how she stands:

tl2

(And don’t ask me why her back feet look so bizarre here-but they surely do-she was UTD on trimming.  I think she is standing in poop LOL)

I adopted her purely out of love when she needed someone, without any background info.  I had zero expectations, maybe some happy hacking.

Due to her freeze brand I had a place to start researching her life.  My research was limited however, as I would rather spend my money on her actual care, rather than finding out who she is.  So I could only find so much. Reg’d name, sire and dam, etc.  No race records came up for me so I assumed she was unraced.  I mean, look at those gams, who would race her?

Then, by total fluke, the man who came to do her teeth the other day was a die-hard Standardbred fan-with the means to find out more on his magical Iphone with his Standardbred Canada membership.  He saw her brand, asked “Well WHO do we have here?” and punched her in.
He found a lot more information, to the tune of (drumroll) this little (14.3) mare had won $155,000 racing over 6 years with a whopping 166 starts!!!  It is not a lot of money I know, but it IS a lot of racing.

One hundred and sixty six…damn.  29 wins, 17 places and 34 shows.

The World Standardbred Show has a special designation for 100+ plus starts, it is called “Warhorse”.

Warhorse indeed!  Staying sound on those legs?  Yes, here is your medal!

I am a big one for looking at conformation, I would have passed this little darling over in a heartbeat in the “staying sound” category.   I would not have bought her for a prospect.  Or even a retraining project.

Yet she sits in her stall munching hay with her freshly filed chompers, solid as a dollar all day long.

I also have to give credit to all her previous handlers, though she has some common ex-racehorse quirks like making faces, sticking out her tongue and pinning her ears at feeding time she is, all in all, still a happy willing creature!

And (still amazed) sound!

Another one for the books…!

 

About crow131

I'm a happy camper 95% of the time, I love animals and kids....and some adults. I believe in Karma and am a spiritual and moral person. Bad people may gain in this world but they are still bad.... I have many interests, including horses, birds, growing my own food, art, writing, the Runes....yes, it is all over the map. I feel some of us are here to care for those who are not cared for by those who should care for them-if that makes any sense ;-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

